Last updated · reviewed by the Essentras editorial team

paid article placement and link building services / Head to head

Outreach Monks vs FatJoe

Same DR-tier pricing model, different guarantees: here is what each dollar actually buys.

Essentras Editorial Team/Reviewed 4 Oct 2026/63 vendor pricing pages checked/How we compared

FatJoe is cheaper at the entry tier, $81 against $99, and backs its Domain Rating and traffic numbers with a stated money-back guarantee. Outreach Monks lets you approve the exact domain before outreach starts, something FatJoe's own FAQ says it cannot do. Neither refunds a link once it's live; both only replace it.

Outreach Monks

Manual guest-post and link-building agency selling individual backlink placements off a published per-Domain-Rating rate card, plus monthly SEO retainers.

Price$99 per placement (DR20+) to $179

FatJoe

UK-based productized link-building and digital PR agency: backlink placements sold by Domain Rating/traffic tier, plus bundled "Grow" managed-campaign packages.

Price$81/placement to $135/placement

Essentras

A per-outlet marketplace: each publication lists its own price, link policy and turnaround on a public page, and you buy one placement at a time.

PricePriced per outlet, published on each listing

Why Outreach Monks and FatJoe buyers end up looking at a third option

Choose a named-outlet marketplace like Essentras when the brief calls for one specific publication, not a Domain Rating band, and you need the price, link policy and turnaround confirmed before you pay. It won't suit a buyer who wants DR-tier volume or a single managed campaign, and it isn't a newswire, a ranking guarantee or an AI-citation guarantee: a placement is a placement, priced and disclosed line by line.

The outlet is named first

You pick the publication from the catalog and see its name before paying. You are not buying a Domain Rating band and finding out afterwards.

Link policy per listing

Each outlet states its own dofollow or nofollow policy and whether the piece carries a sponsored label. You check that before checkout, not after publication.

One placement is a valid order

No retainer, no minimum spend, no monthly term. Buy a single placement, and what you receive is a confirmed URL rather than a report.

Outreach Monks vs FatJoe, side by side

Outreach Monks vs FatJoe feature comparison
 Outreach MonksFatJoeEssentras
Pricing modelPublished DR rate cardPublished DR rate card + bundlesPublished per-outlet price list
Entry price$99 per placement$81 per placementSet per outlet, shown upfront
You choose the outletYes, approve or swapNo, DR bracket onlyYes, from the catalog
Link policy disclosed before buyingYes, in rate cardYes, in rate cardYes, per outlet listing
Turnaround disclosedNot publicly statedFrom 14 daysShown per outlet
Guarantee typeReplacement only, 6 monthsMoney-back + lifetime replacementConfirmed URL on chosen outlet
Minimum order sizeNone, standard ordersNone, order-as-you-needNone, per placement
Credit or cancellation terms2-day window, packages onlyCredit expires in 12 monthsNo credit subscription
Resale reportingNot statedWhite-label CSV exportNo agency dashboard stated
Scope beyond linksGuest posts + SEO retainersLinks + bundled 'Grow' PRLinks, Wikipedia, Knowledge Panel, AI visibility
Built forDR-volume link buyersAgencies scaling fastBuyers who want one named outlet

Published list pricing, checked 4 October 2026 on each vendor's own site. Vendors change pricing and add-ons without notice, and quote-only vendors negotiate per deal, so confirm at the source before you buy. Anything we could not verify is marked, not estimated.

The decision, in three lines

Pick Outreach Monks if

Pick Outreach Monks when you want to see and approve the exact candidate domain before outreach starts, and you're ordering one-off placements rather than a managed campaign. It is also the one to contact for a 50+ links a month quote, since FatJoe's published bundles cap out at its Grow tiers.

Pick FatJoe if

Pick FatJoe when you want a stated money-back guarantee behind the Domain Rating and traffic figures, not just a replacement promise, and you want bundled 'Grow' campaigns or fast per-placement delivery from 14 days.

Pick Essentras if

Choose a named-outlet marketplace like Essentras when the brief calls for one specific publication, not a Domain Rating band, and you need the price, link policy and turnaround confirmed before you pay. It won't suit a buyer who wants DR-tier volume or a single managed campaign, and it isn't a newswire, a ranking guarantee or an AI-citation guarantee: a placement is a placement, priced and disclosed line by line.

Where Outreach Monks genuinely wins

A buyer whose goal is core SEO link-building at volume, not brand media placements, is genuinely better served by Outreach Monks: its DR-tiered catalog, white-label reporting, and agency-scale delivery (500+ agencies served, per vendor) are purpose-built for buyers or agencies who want a steady monthly flow of do-follow backlinks across many sites rather than a placement on one specific named outlet. Its published entry price ($99) is also lower than most named-outlet marketplace listings, which makes it the more economical choice for a buyer whose priority is authority/DR signal rather than the prestige or audience of a particular publication.

Where FatJoe genuinely wins

FatJoe is the genuinely better fit for an agency or reseller that needs to push a high, predictable volume of backlinks across many client sites without spending staff time picking individual outlets. The DR-tier pricing, 14-day delivery, included copywriting, lifetime link guarantee, and a dedicated Grow concierge make it closer to a "set it and forget it" link-building subscription at scale, something a named-outlet marketplace model isn't optimized for when the buyer just wants volume at a metric floor and doesn't care which specific site carries the link.

How we compared

Both sides were compared on the same 11 dimensions, using published list pricing read off each vendor's own site on 4 October 2026. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the cell says so rather than carrying an estimate.

  • 01Is the specific publication named before payment, or only revealed after the piece is live?
  • 02Is the full per-outlet price list public, or does it sit behind an account application?
  • 03Is the dofollow or nofollow policy, and any sponsored label, stated per outlet before checkout?
  • 04Can you buy a single placement, or does the published model require a retainer or minimum term?
  • 05If the link is removed, what is the remedy, replacement, store credit or cash, and for how long?

Deliberately excluded. Features neither side documents publicly, and any claim that rests only on a single review or a vendor's own case study.

Essentras sells services in this category, so this page is not a neutral review. Every competitor figure is published list pricing you can check on the vendor's own site, and the case for choosing a competitor over us is stated on every entry rather than left out.

FAQ

Outreach Monks vs FatJoe, FAQ

Is Outreach Monks or FatJoe cheaper?▾

FatJoe's entry tier is $81 for a DR10+ placement, against $99 for Outreach Monks' DR20+ starting tier. At the 'most popular' tier each vendor highlights, FatJoe's DR30+ sits at $135 and Outreach Monks' DR40+ sits at $179, though the two bands aren't the same DR floor. FatJoe also notes its USD prices are an approximate conversion from an underlying GBP list price, so the figure you're quoted can move with the exchange rate.

Which one lets me choose the exact website my link lands on?▾

Outreach Monks shows you the specific candidate domain and lets you approve, reject or swap it before outreach starts. FatJoe sells a Domain Rating or traffic bracket instead: its own FAQ confirms you can't pre-approve a blog post placement, you only see which site carried it after the content is already live. If outlet certainty matters more than price, that's the deciding factor here.

What happens if a placement gets removed after it goes live?▾

Outreach Monks states a 6-month replacement guarantee: a removed placement is rebuilt or re-placed at no extra cost, but there's no cash refund. FatJoe publishes a Domain Rating guarantee, an Ahrefs traffic guarantee and a lifetime link-replacement guarantee, backed by what it calls a 100% money-back guarantee if those specific metrics aren't met. Read the metric guarantee and the replacement guarantee as 2 separate promises; neither vendor refunds you simply because you changed your mind.

Can I cancel or get my money back once I've placed an order?▾

Neither vendor refunds a link once it's published, since the third-party site isn't theirs to refund. Outreach Monks' recurring packages can only be cancelled within 2 days of ordering. FatJoe's purchased account credit expires 12 months after purchase, 6 months if it was gifted, and FatJoe may charge an admin fee to change anchor text or a target URL on a completed order. Budget on the assumption that once you order, that spend is committed.

Which is the better fit for an agency ordering backlinks at volume?▾

FatJoe is built for that case: 40,000+ agency accounts, bundled 'Grow' campaigns from $675 to $5,400 per campaign, and a dedicated concierge who sets the anchor-text and URL mix for you. Outreach Monks will quote custom bulk pricing for 50+ links a month, but that rate isn't published, so you can't compare it to FatJoe's tiers without contacting sales first. For published, scannable volume pricing, FatJoe is the more transparent option today.

Are the review scores for these two agencies trustworthy?▾

Treat single-platform scores as partial. Outreach Monks has a 4.9/5 average on Clutch across 12 reviews, but its own homepage also claims a combined 4.9/5 across 320+ reviews spanning several platforms, a figure that can't be checked against any one source. FatJoe's scores actually diverge by platform: 3.8/5 from 9 reviews on G2 against 4.8/5 'Excellent' from 472 reviews on Trustpilot. Check the platform and the sample size before treating either number as the full picture.

Where does Essentras fit if I want neither a DR bracket nor a managed campaign?▾

Essentras runs a different model: a catalog of vetted publications where each outlet shows its own price, link policy and turnaround before you pay, and you get a confirmed URL on the outlet you picked, not a Domain Rating band. It has real limits too. It can't file regulated financial disclosure, a paid placement is disclosed as a paid placement rather than earned press, it's a smaller operation than these two with no dedicated CSM, and it can't guarantee a ranking or an AI citation.

Every outlet, named and priced in public

No membership, no circuit you cannot inspect, no quote form between you and a number.