Last updated · reviewed by the Essentras editorial team
press release distribution services / Head to head
PRWeb vs EIN Presswire
Two fixed-price wire tiers, compared on price, link policy and reach, so you buy the right one.
Choose PRWeb if you want the lowest entry price and a fast first release, and syndication volume matters more than which sites carry it. Choose EIN Presswire if you need Google News, AP News and USA TODAY Network reach, or several releases a year at a lower per-release cost. Neither lets you pick the outlet, and both links are undisclosed or nofollow.
PRWeb
Cision's self-serve press release distribution service, sold per release across four published pricing tiers
EIN Presswire
A volume press-release newswire: fixed-price credit packages for syndicating releases into Google News, AP News, and the USA TODAY Network via a shared distribution circuit.
Essentras
Named media placements bought one at a time, with price, turnaround and link policy shown before checkout.
Why PRWeb and EIN Presswire buyers end up looking at a third option
Choose Essentras when the goal is a specific named publication with disclosed terms, not a tier of an unnamed network. You see each outlet's price, turnaround and dofollow or nofollow policy before paying, and you receive a confirmed URL on the outlet you chose. Essentras is not a newswire: it cannot file regulated financial disclosure, and it cannot guarantee a ranking or an AI citation, because nobody can.
The destination is named first
You choose the publication from the catalog before paying. Every other service here sells a circuit, a tier or a fixed network and decides the outlets afterwards.
The link policy is on the listing
Each outlet states dofollow or nofollow before checkout. Business Wire, EIN Presswire and PR Underground nofollow everything by policy. Most of the rest publish no policy at all.
A URL, not a reach estimate
Wire tiers are sold on claimed monthly readers. An Essentras order closes when the agreed article is live at a URL you can open and check.
PRWeb vs EIN Presswire, side by side
| PRWeb | EIN Presswire | Essentras | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | $120/release | $149/release | Priced per outlet, no fixed tier |
| Pricing published | Yes, 4 tiers | Yes, 3 tiers | Yes, per outlet in catalog |
| You choose the outlet | No | No | Yes |
| Link policy | Not disclosed | Nofollow only | Dofollow or nofollow, stated upfront |
| Turnaround | 24-48 hours | Not stated | Stated per outlet before paying |
| Guaranteed placement | No, network-wide only | No, circuit-wide only | Confirmed URL on chosen outlet |
| Contract term | None stated, per release | Not a subscription, prepaid | None, pay per placement |
| Credit or release expiry | None stated | 365 days | Not applicable |
| Distribution reach | 1,200+ site network | AP News, Nexstar, USA TODAY Network | One named outlet per order |
| Independent reputation score | 1.6/5 Trustpilot (23) | 3.6/5 Trustpilot (177) | Not stated |
| Built for | Broad syndication, fixed price | Google News indexing, volume | A specific outlet's authority |
Published list pricing, checked 4 October 2026 on each vendor's own site. Vendors change pricing and add-ons without notice, and quote-only vendors negotiate per deal, so confirm at the source before you buy. Anything we could not verify is marked, not estimated.
The decision, in three lines
Pick PRWeb if
Pick PRWeb when you need one release out fast at the lowest published price, and syndication volume matters more than knowing which specific sites will carry it. Its $360 Advanced tier is also a way to add journalist email outreach to a single release without buying a separate service.
Pick EIN Presswire if
Pick EIN Presswire when the release needs to land specifically in Google News, AP News and the USA TODAY Network, or when you are filing several releases a year and want a lower per-release cost at the Corporate tier. Accept upfront that every link in the release will be nofollow.
Pick Essentras if
Choose Essentras when the goal is a specific named publication with disclosed terms, not a tier of an unnamed network. You see each outlet's price, turnaround and dofollow or nofollow policy before paying, and you receive a confirmed URL on the outlet you chose. Essentras is not a newswire: it cannot file regulated financial disclosure, and it cannot guarantee a ranking or an AI citation, because nobody can.
Where PRWeb genuinely wins
When the goal is raw web syndication and search-visibility signal rather than a placement on one specific named outlet, for example seeding a routine announcement across as many indexable URLs as possible, fast, at a known fixed price, without spending time researching individual publications, PRWeb's $120-$245 tiers are quicker and cheaper per release than sourcing and buying named placements one at a time, and the $360+ tiers add a journalist-list touch that a single-outlet purchase doesn't replicate at that price point.
Where EIN Presswire genuinely wins
If what you actually need is syndication volume and Google News/AI-crawler indexation for a routine announcement (funding round, product launch, SEC-adjacent disclosure) rather than a specific outlet's editorial credibility, EIN Presswire is genuinely the more efficient buy: a $149-$999 published price, no sales call, no outlet-by-outlet shopping, and a distribution footprint (AP News, Nexstar, USA TODAY Network) that would cost far more to assemble one placement at a time. For high-frequency issuers, PR agencies filing routine client releases, companies with a steady drumbeat of minor announcements, the per-release unit economics at the Corporate tier (~$67/release) beat buying individual named placements for every release.
Measured, not asserted
The numbers behind this page
Every comparison on this site rests on two things we recompute rather than claim: the live catalog of what we actually sell, and a running study of what answer engines actually say. Both are linked below so you can check them.
Corpus figures recomputed 5 October 2026. Catalog figures are live.
How we compared
Both sides were compared on the same 11 dimensions, using published list pricing read off each vendor's own site on 4 October 2026. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the cell says so rather than carrying an estimate.
- 01Is a price published on the vendor's own site, or does any number require a sales call first?
- 02Can the buyer choose a specific named publication, or only a circuit, tier or geography?
- 03Is the dofollow or nofollow status of links stated anywhere before purchase?
- 04What does leaving cost: notice period, auto-renewal, credit expiry, refund window?
- 05Does the service reach regulated financial feeds such as AP, Reuters or Bloomberg terminals for disclosure-grade news?
Deliberately excluded. Features neither side documents publicly, and any claim that rests only on a single review or a vendor's own case study.
Essentras sells services in this category, so this page is not a neutral review. Every competitor figure is published list pricing you can check on the vendor's own site, and the case for choosing a competitor over us is stated on every entry rather than left out.
FAQ
PRWeb vs EIN Presswire, FAQ
Does PRWeb or EIN Presswire let me pick which news sites run my release?▾
Neither does. PRWeb distributes through a tiered network of 1,200+ syndication sites and, at $360 and up, an industry-curated journalist list, but the specific sites are decided by the tier, not by you. EIN Presswire distributes through a fixed circuit, including AP News, Nexstar Media Group and the USA TODAY Network, selected by the industry and country you target, again not a named-outlet choice.
Are the links in a PRWeb or EIN Presswire release dofollow?▾
EIN Presswire's own FAQ states its links are nofollow only, capped at 3 anchor links per release, so no link equity passes to your site. PRWeb's editorial guidelines cap outbound links at 1 per 100 words and discuss protecting link value, but PRWeb does not publicly state whether its distributed links are dofollow or nofollow, so that cannot be confirmed before you pay.
Which is cheaper, PRWeb or EIN Presswire?▾
PRWeb's entry tier is $120 for one release, versus $149 for EIN Presswire's Basic tier. At volume the comparison flips: EIN Presswire's Corporate tier works out to roughly $67 per release across 15 releases, while PRWeb's published tiers do not include a multi-release discount, each release is priced on its own.
Is there a subscription or contract with either service?▾
Neither publishes a subscription for its core self-serve product. PRWeb sells each release as a one-time purchase with no stated term on its pricing page, though Cision's broader terms, which may not apply to a single release, describe auto-renewing subscriptions elsewhere in its product line. EIN Presswire sells prepaid, non-recurring credit packages that its own terms describe as not a subscription, but unused credits expire after 365 days.
Can I get a refund if the release underperforms?▾
EIN Presswire will refund within 60 days of purchase, and only if less than 25% of the package's credits have been used, after that the balance is forfeited. PRWeb's pricing page does not publish a refund policy, and independent reviews describe disputes over billing after a cancellation request, so confirm the terms directly with support before paying.
What do independent reviews say about PRWeb and EIN Presswire?▾
PRWeb holds a 1.6 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 23 reviews, with recurring complaints about weak traffic and difficulty reaching support. EIN Presswire holds a 3.6 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 177 reviews, a meaningfully larger sample and a notably higher score. Both sets of reviews are worth reading alongside each vendor's own published pricing and policy pages, not instead of them.
When does neither PRWeb nor EIN Presswire fit, and what is the alternative?▾
Both are built for syndication volume rather than a specific outlet's editorial credibility, and neither guarantees which named site will run your release. If you need to choose a specific, vetted publication and see its dofollow or nofollow policy before paying, that is a different kind of purchase. Essentras sells placements on named outlets this way, though it is not a newswire and cannot replace one for regulated financial disclosure.
Other comparisons in this category
Same decision, different pairings. Each page carries the published price for both sides.
Head to head
Alternatives
Pick the outlet before you pay
No membership, no circuit you cannot inspect, no quote form between you and a number.