Last updated · reviewed by the Essentras editorial team
Outlet guide
How to get a press release on AP News
Press releases reach AP News through distributors that syndicate to apnews.com; emailing AP is a story pitch, not a placement. EIN Presswire (from $149) and Newswire.com (from $659) list AP News, but check that "AP" means apnews.com, not AP Newsroom. On Essentras, an AP News press release costs $317, live in 3 to 5 business days.
Sources: the distributors' own pages, our listing and our delivered orders. AP's own sites blocked our reader.
What you will do
- See how releases reach apnews.com, from the distributors' own pages.
- Tell AP News apart from AP Newsroom and AP style before you pay for "AP".
- Compare every route that names AP, with its price and the date we read it.
- Order through a distributor or the Essentras listing, and check the live page.
- Pitch AP reporters if what you want is an AP story.
Start here in 1 click
The Essentras listing, with everything it states before you pay.
AP News press release
$317
- Turnaround
- 3 to 5 business days
- Goes live on
- apnews.com
- Link
- Nofollow
- Indexed
- Yes, per the listing
- Label, as the listing states it
- Published with a sponsored or partner label.
- Included
- Writing available, you approve the draft, dated screenshot, live URL on delivery
- If it does not publish
- Refunded if not published, or if the turnaround is missed.
Want Business Insider and Yahoo too? All 3 for $833
A paid placement. It is not earned coverage, and it runs with the label the listing states.
The mechanics
How do press releases get onto AP News?
Distribution services syndicate press releases to apnews.com, and some name AP News in their packages. AP's journalists decide what AP reports; a release on apnews.com is not AP reporting.
Distributors syndicate to apnews.com
EIN Presswire announced on 20 Sep 2022 that "editorially approved press releases sent out via EIN Presswire are now syndicated on APNews.com". Its pricing page says all of its packages include AP News, from $149 (read 18 Oct 2026).
Other services name it in a tier
Newswire.com lists AP News from its $659 Basic package (read 18 Oct 2026). PR.com lists APNews.com only in its $300 package, and Brandpush in its $595 Authority package (read 16 Oct 2026).
Approval comes first
EIN Presswire's own wording is "editorially approved" releases, so expect a review before anything runs. On Essentras, if the outlet rejects the draft for reasons outside our editorial guidelines and no comparable replacement is found within 7 business days, you get a full refund.
We could not read AP
apnews.com and ap.org blocked our reader on 18 Oct 2026. Everything here comes from the distributors' pages, our own listing and our delivered orders, each dated.
Our listing
The Essentras AP News listing is a press release on AP News ordered by name, with the price, turnaround, link policy and label shown before you pay.
Read the package
AP News, AP Newsroom or AP style: which "AP" are you buying?
"AP" in a package can mean 3 different things, and only 1 of them is a page on apnews.com you can open and link to.
AP News (apnews.com)
The public news site. A press release here is a page anyone can open. EIN Presswire, Newswire.com, PR.com (in its top package), Brandpush and Essentras name it.
AP Newsroom
24-7 Press Release describes it as a private AP platform for journalists, accessed by about 30,000 news professionals by its count, and "not the public APNews.com". There is no public page to link to.
AP style
A writing standard from the AP Stylebook. It makes a release easier for editors to use. It does not place the release anywhere.
| Vendor | Price | In the vendor's words | Which AP | Read |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EIN Presswire | $149, all packages | "All press release packages include AP News" | AP News | 18 Oct 2026 |
| 24-7 Press Release PR Network Plus | $89 | "a private AP journalist platform", "not the public APNews.com" | AP Newsroom, not apnews.com | 18 Oct 2026 |
| PR.com | $300 package only | Associated Press top media outlets, AP Newsroom and APNews.com | Both | 16 Oct 2026 |
| Brandpush Authority | $595 | AP News among its 6 premium outlets | AP News | 16 Oct 2026 |
| Newswire.com Basic and Feature | $659 and $965 | "Distributed to AP News, Digital Journal, and more" | AP News | 18 Oct 2026 |
| ACCESS Newswire National | $865 | Names AP with Yahoo Finance and broker terminals | Not specified: ask | 16 Oct 2026 |
| Newsfile | No price on the page we read | "AP enhancement options available" | Not specified: ask | 18 Oct 2026 |
| Essentras | $317 | AP News; Press Release | AP News | 18 Oct 2026 |
Routes and prices
Which routes reach AP News, and what does each cost?
The lowest published price that names AP News is $149 at EIN Presswire. Newswire.com starts at $659 for a package that lists it. On Essentras, an AP News press release costs $317, and pitching AP reporters costs nothing.
| Route | What it costs | Time to go live | What the reader sees | Who decides where it runs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A distributor that names AP News | EIN Presswire $149; PR.com $300; Brandpush $595; Newswire.com $659 | Same day at EIN Presswire for verified accounts in business hours, by its own account | Not checked: AP blocked our reader. Ask for a recent apnews.com link | The distributor, after its review |
| Essentras: AP News press release | $317 | 3 to 5 business days | "Published with a sponsored or partner label." | You pick the outlet; you approve the draft |
| Essentras: Business Insider, Yahoo and AP News | $833 | 3 to 5 business days | "Published with a discreet disclosure." | You pick the bundle; 3 live links |
| AP Newsroom plans | From $89 at 24-7 Press Release | Set with the vendor | No public page: a private platform for journalists | The vendor |
| Pitch AP reporters | $0 | No date: AP's journalists decide | An AP story, only if a reporter writes it | AP's journalists |
- EIN Presswire allows only nofollow links in its releases, and refunds only within 60 days of purchase, prorated, when under 25% of credits are used, per its FAQ (read 15 Oct 2026).
- Vendor prices and wording are the vendors' own on the dates shown. Confirm at the source before you buy.
Free tool
Which route gets you on AP News?
2 questions. The answer names the route, its price and what it will not do.
Answer the questions to see your route.
Every answer, in a table
| If | Route | Price | Time |
|---|---|---|---|
| The news is material and your company is listed | A disclosure wire | PR Newswire and GlobeNewswire by quote; Business Wire from $475 (grade B) | Set with the wire |
| You want an AP reporter to write about it | Pitch the AP reporter who covers your beat | $0 | No date can be promised |
| You want the lowest price that names AP News | EIN Presswire, or the Essentras listing for a named page | $149 at EIN Presswire; $317 on Essentras | Same day at EIN Presswire for verified accounts; 3 to 5 business days on Essentras |
| You need a page on apnews.com by a date | The Essentras AP News listing | $317 | 3 to 5 business days |
Label and link
What does a press release on AP News look like, and is the link followed?
Label
The Essentras listing states: "Published with a sponsored or partner label." AP's pages blocked our reader, so we do not quote AP's exact wording. Open the live examples on the listing to see it.
Link
Nofollow, per the listing. EIN Presswire allows only nofollow links in its releases, per its FAQ (read 15 Oct 2026).
Address
A page on apnews.com. Before you pay any distributor, ask for a recent apnews.com link from a release on the same package.
What it is not
An AP story. Describe it as a press release on AP News in your own materials, and link to the page itself.
Step by step
How to get a press release on AP News in 5 steps
1. Decide what you need
A page on apnews.com, an AP story, or investor disclosure. Each has a different route, and only a page can be bought.
2. Pick a route that names apnews.com
A distributor that names AP News, or the Essentras listing. Confirm in writing that "AP" means apnews.com, not AP Newsroom, using the template below.
3. Write it for editors
Facts first, the date written out, numbers in AP style, 1 quote and a media contact. Expect a review before it runs.
4. Order before your date
The Essentras listing runs 3 to 5 business days, paused while we wait on you. EIN Presswire says it distributes the same day for verified accounts in business hours.
5. Check the live page and keep proof
Open the apnews.com page, check the label, your links and the date, and save the URL and a screenshot. Essentras sends both on delivery.
When to order to be live by your date
Pick the date the release must be on AP News. The table shows the latest day to start, from each route's stated turnaround.
| Route | Window | If you start today | To be live by your date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Essentras: AP News press release | 3 to 5 business days, per the listing. | ||
| Essentras: Business Insider, Yahoo and AP News | 3 to 5 business days, per the listing. | ||
| EIN Presswire | Same day for verified accounts in business hours, by its own pricing page, after editorial approval. | ||
| Brandpush Authority | Published within 5 business days of approval, by its own page (read 16 Oct 2026). | ||
| Pitching an AP reporter | No date: AP's journalists decide. | No date can be promised | No date can be promised |
Pick a date to see the latest day to start. Business days are Monday to Friday. Public holidays are not counted, so allow for them.
Essentras windows are business days, paused while we wait on you, with a 3 business day grace period before the automatic refund.
AP journalism
Can you get the Associated Press to write about you?
Only AP's journalists decide what AP reports, and no route on this page sells an AP story. A press release on apnews.com is not AP reporting, and it does not make an AP story more likely by itself.
To pitch, find the AP reporter who covers your beat through the bylines on recent AP stories, and send a short pitch with real news, data or access to a spokesperson. Paste the release under the pitch; do not attach it.
AP's contact pages blocked our reader, so we do not list an address here. Use the contact routes on ap.org.
AP style
How do you write a press release in AP style?
AP style makes a release easier for editors to use. These are the rules that matter most in release copy, as ContentGrip summarized them on 24 Sep 2026.
Dates, not "today"
Write the date. A syndicated release is read weeks later.
Numbers
AP's common baseline spells out numbers under 10 and uses figures from 10 up, with exceptions such as ages, dates, money and percentages.
Money
Write large amounts with million or billion, not long strings of zeros.
Titles
Capitalize a formal title directly before a name, and check company-specific titles.
Datelines
The city and the date before the first sentence. Accuracy matters more than punctuation.
Everything else
Check the current AP Stylebook: guides disagree on details such as headline case.
AP style does not place a release on AP News. A distributor or a listing does.
Indexing, AI and permanence
Is a press release on AP News indexed, cited by AI and permanent?
Indexed
The Essentras listing marks it indexed: yes. Our refund policy states indexing status at purchase and does not cover a later Google decision to drop a page.
AI answer engines
Our AP News listing page reads apnews.com's robots.txt. On 18 Oct 2026 it showed 3 of 6 answer engines allowed and several AI training crawlers blocked, so citation by AI assistants is partial.
How long it stays
The distributor pages we read do not say. On Essentras, if the publisher removes it within 90 days, you get a free re-placement or a full refund.
Other copies
A release sent by a distributor also lives on the distributor's own site, so your newsroom page should stay the source you link to.
Copy-ready
Templates for an AP News release
5 templates. Replace everything in [brackets].
AP-style dateline and lead
The top of any release meant for AP News.
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE [Company] [does the new thing] [for whom] [CITY], [State or country], [Month Day, Year] - [Company], a [what the company is] based in [city], announced [the news in 1 sentence, with the key figure]. [Second paragraph: why it matters and to whom, with a figure and its source.] "[A quote that adds a view]," said [Full Name], [title] of [Company]. About [Company] [Boilerplate.] [Website.] Media contact: [name, email, phone] ###
Questions for a vendor that sells "AP"
Before you pay for any package that mentions AP.
Hi [Name], Before I order [package name], please confirm in writing: 1. Does it publish the release on apnews.com, or place it in AP Newsroom? 2. Can you send 2 recent apnews.com links from releases on this package? 3. What label will the apnews.com page show? 4. Is there an editorial review, and what happens if it is not approved? 5. When does it go out, and when do I get the report? 6. Are the links nofollow, and how many are allowed? 7. What is your refund policy if it does not appear on apnews.com? Thanks, [Your name]
What to have ready before you order
The Essentras listing or any distributor.
Company name and website: [ ] The news in 1 sentence: [ ] Date it must be live by: [ ] Release text, or a request for us to write it: [ ] Quote: [name, title, the quote] Media contact for the release: [name, email, phone] Link to include: [newsroom page or homepage] Image, if any: [link, with credit]
Pitch to an AP reporter
When you want an AP story, not a release page.
Subject: [The news, in AP headline style] Hi [First name], You covered [specific story] on [date]. [Company] has [the news], which [why it matters beyond your company, in 1 sentence]. [1 figure with its source.] [Spokesperson, title] can talk [days, time zone], and [a customer, a site visit or the data] is available. The release is below. [Your name] [Title, company, phone] [Paste the release here]
Follow-up to the reporter
A few days later, only with something new.
Subject: Re: [Original subject] Hi [First name], 1 addition in case it helps: [new figure, a local angle, a person to interview, a photo]. [Link] If it is not for you, no reply needed. [Your name]
Avoid
Mistakes that waste an AP News release
Paying for AP Newsroom when you wanted apnews.com
AP Newsroom is a private platform for journalists, by 24-7 Press Release's own description. Ask which AP a package means.
Calling it AP coverage
A release on apnews.com is not an AP story. Say "press release on AP News" in your own materials.
Judging a package by its outlet count
Ask for the apnews.com page you will get, not the number of sites in the network.
Assuming approval
EIN Presswire syndicates "editorially approved" releases. Write facts, not hype, and expect a review.
Expecting link value
The listing is nofollow, EIN Presswire allows only nofollow links, and Google treats optimized anchors in distributed releases as link spam.
Writing "today"
Write the date. Syndicated copies are read weeks later.
Attaching the release to an AP pitch
Paste it under a short pitch. Attachments can be filtered as spam or left unopened.
Ordering too late
The listing runs 3 to 5 business days. Order at least 5 business days before your date.
Proof: open placements we have published
We have published client press releases on AP News. The listing page shows live examples you can open on apnews.com, with the client names left out, and AP News is in the track record on our Get Featured page.
Optional add-ons, and cheaper starts
Optional. You can publish without any of these.
Often added
Yahoo Finance in the same order
$667
A Yahoo Finance press release through PR Newswire, 3 to 5 business days. The listing states: "Published with a sponsored or partner label."
Publish on Yahoo FinanceBusiness Insider, Yahoo and AP News in 1 order
$833 instead of $1,404
The 3 bought separately cost $1,404; the bundle saves $571 (41%). The listing states: "Published with a discreet disclosure."
See the bundleVolume discount
10% off 3 or more, 15% off 5 or more
Taken off the basket at checkout when you order 3 or more placements.
Browse outlets
Not ready yet?
A page on Medium
$97, 1 business day
A feature article on Medium, a publishing platform, not a news outlet. The listing states: "Published as a standard editorial article, with no sponsored label."
Publish on MediumPress Monthly
$97 a month
1 press placement every month, on an outlet matched to your niche and shown to you before we write. Cancel any time; plan months carry no turnaround guarantee.
See Press MonthlyStart free
$0
Price a wire release in the calculator, then decide whether a named page is worth it.
Open the calculator
FAQ
Frequently asked questions
Can I send my press release to AP News directly?▾
Emailing AP is a pitch to its journalists, who decide what AP reports. Press release pages on apnews.com come through distributors: EIN Presswire says its editorially approved releases are syndicated on APNews.com.
How much does it cost to get a press release on AP News?▾
Published prices that name AP News start at $149 (EIN Presswire, all packages). Newswire.com lists it from $659, PR.com in its $300 package. On Essentras an AP News press release costs $317 (read 18 Oct 2026).
Is AP Newsroom the same as AP News?▾
No. 24-7 Press Release describes AP Newsroom as a private AP platform for journalists, "not the public APNews.com". A package that places a release there gives you no public page on apnews.com.
Will AP write a story about my press release?▾
Not because of a paid release. AP's journalists decide what AP reports. Pitch the reporter who covers your beat with news, data or access.
Is a press release on AP News labeled as paid?▾
The Essentras listing states: "Published with a sponsored or partner label." We could not read AP's own pages to quote its wording, so open the live examples on the listing to see it.
Is the link in an AP News press release dofollow?▾
Not on the routes we checked. The Essentras listing is nofollow, and EIN Presswire allows only nofollow links. Link to your newsroom with your brand name.
How long does it take to get a press release on AP News?▾
On Essentras, 3 to 5 business days, paused while we wait on you, with a full refund if the window is missed. EIN Presswire says it distributes the same day for verified accounts in business hours.
Does writing in AP style get my release on AP News?▾
No. AP style makes the release easier for editors to use. Placement on apnews.com comes from a distributor or a listing.
Can AI assistants cite a press release on AP News?▾
Partly. Our AP News listing page, which reads apnews.com's robots.txt, showed 3 of 6 answer engines allowed on 18 Oct 2026, with several AI training crawlers blocked.
How long does a press release stay on AP News?▾
The distributor pages we read do not say. On Essentras, a removal within 90 days gets a free re-placement or a full refund.
Next steps
- 01
Decide: a page, a story or disclosure
A page can be bought; a story is pitched; material news goes through a disclosure wire.
- 02
Confirm apnews.com in writing
Use the vendor questions template for any package that says "AP".
- 03
Write it in AP style
Date written out, facts first, numbers per AP, 1 quote, media contact.
- 04
Order at least 5 business days ahead
The Essentras listing runs 3 to 5 business days.
- 05
Check the live page and keep the proof
URL and screenshot, then share it as a press release on AP News, not as AP coverage.
Ready for the page itself?
$317, 3 to 5 business days, live URL and screenshot, or a full refund.
Publish on AP News Want Business Insider and Yahoo too? All 3 for $833Checked on . Every price, turnaround and label on this page comes from a listing, a rate card or a page named in the sources below, read on the date shown there.
Sources
- Newsmatics, Associated Press (AP) added to EIN Presswire's distribution footprint (20 Sep 2022), read 18 Oct 2026
- EIN Presswire pricing, read 18 Oct 2026
- EIN Presswire FAQ (nofollow links, refunds), read 15 Oct 2026
- 24-7 Press Release, PR Network Plus (AP Newsroom), read 18 Oct 2026
- Newswire.com pricing, read 18 Oct 2026
- PR.com press release pricing, read 16 Oct 2026 (Essentras rate card)
- Brandpush packages, read 16 Oct 2026 (Essentras rate card)
- ACCESS Newswire plans, read 16 Oct 2026 (Essentras rate card)
- Newsfile, North American distribution, read 18 Oct 2026
- ContentGrip, AP style press release: the rules PR teams actually need (24 Sep 2026), read 18 Oct 2026
- Google Search spam policies (last updated 28 Aug 2026), read 18 Oct 2026
- Essentras catalog API: AP News listings, read 18 Oct 2026
- Essentras AP News listing (robots.txt reading, live examples), read 18 Oct 2026
- Essentras Get Featured track record, read 18 Oct 2026
- Essentras refund policy
Essentras sells paid placements, including the AP News listing on this page. Essentras is not affiliated with the Associated Press. Vendor prices are the vendors' own, as dated. Paid placements are not earned coverage.
More on sending press releases
Adds us as a preferred source, so our guides surface for you in Search and AI answers. One click, and you can undo it any time.
Free tool · Authority Audit
Where does your authority actually stand?
Before you fix one piece, see the whole picture. A free Authority Audit scores your presence across Google, AI, Wikipedia, reviews, and press, and shows you exactly where to start.